Engraving Forum.com - The Internet's Largest and Fastest Growing Engraving Community

The Internet's Largest and Fastest Growing Engraving Community
Discuss hand engraving using basic to the most advanced methods and equipment
Forum Members: 14,732. Welcome to our newest member, Miss Allison
EngravingForum.com - Domain since Feb 7, 2003

Graver Video Conferencing is empty Join now!

Go Back   Engraving Forum.com - The Internet's Largest and Fastest Growing Engraving Community > Forums > Who's Who - Hand Engraving Forum
ENGRAVING TOOLS - Paypal accepted Classes Glossary Feedback Tips Sharpening Bulino Videos Forum Policies

Old 04-18-2013, 03:27 PM
Copper

Default Hello All!

Whelp, clearly I am new to this as well given I am introducing myself. My name is Jesse B, from Lubbock/Wichita Falls, Texas. Graduate student at Midwestern State University and currently working an internship at Museum of Texas Tech University, Lubbock Lake Landmark.
Anyways, I have been working with leather for about a year now as a hobby (that has gotten out of control) and have been interested in making my own conchos and maybe some buckles. I took interest pretty fast and hard once I started reading though the forum and seeing some of the beautiful work on here.

Like, alot of the others I am on a low budget as well, but will be ordering some hand tool in the next week or so, where I plan to dive in head first.

I seem to have a decent understanding of the hand tools I need, but can anyone suggest a good alternative to an expensive engraving vise?

Thanks ahead of time! Looking forward to this!
Old 04-23-2013, 08:29 PM
Gold

Default Re: Hello All!

Hi Jesse, try and google "homemade engraving ball" or something close to that. People get creative when they lack the $$$. Used bowling balls, etc. come into mind. You will be surprized what is out there.

All the best in your quest.
Old 04-24-2013, 12:06 AM
Platinum

Default Re: Hello All!

Quote: