Engraving Forum.com - The Internet's Largest and Fastest Growing Engraving Community

The Internet's Largest and Fastest Growing Engraving Community
Discuss hand engraving using basic to the most advanced methods and equipment
Forum Members: 13,590. Welcome to our newest member, Blake Marks
EngravingForum.com - Domain since Feb 7, 2003

Graver Video Conferencing is empty Join now!

Go Back   Engraving Forum.com - The Internet's Largest and Fastest Growing Engraving Community > Forums > Antique Engraver's Tools -Hand Engraving Forum
ENGRAVING TOOLS - Paypal accepted Classes Glossary Feedback Tips Sharpening Bulino Videos Forum Policies

Old 04-30-2012, 06:20 PM
Copper

Default Old brass vise

I am new to engraving and am trying to assemble the tools to get started. I found this vise on Craigslist and am not sure what I have. I cleaned it up and it turns out the entire thing is brass. The ball is 6 1/2" across and weighs 32 pounds. I could not find any makers mark on it so I was wondering if anyone had seen anything like this before, who made it and what is it worth. Thank you for all the information.
Aaron
Attached Images
File Type: jpg photo 1 (1).jpg (55.3 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg photo 2 (1).jpg (57.4 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg photo 3 (1).jpg (53.5 KB, 0 views)
Old 05-01-2012, 01:53 PM
Steel

Default Re: Old brass vise

I think you made ​​a good purchase.Perhaps the only disadvantage is that oxidize but can be solved easily.
Old 05-18-2012, 04:07 AM
Steel