Engraving Forum.com - The Internet's Largest and Fastest Growing Engraving Community

The Internet's Largest and Fastest Growing Engraving Community
Discuss hand engraving using basic to the most advanced methods and equipment
Forum Members: 14,732. Welcome to our newest member, Miss Allison
EngravingForum.com - Domain since Feb 7, 2003

Graver Video Conferencing is empty Join now!

Go Back   Engraving Forum.com - The Internet's Largest and Fastest Growing Engraving Community > Forums > Who's Who - Hand Engraving Forum
ENGRAVING TOOLS - Paypal accepted Classes Glossary Feedback Tips Sharpening Bulino Videos Forum Policies

Old 07-23-2010, 01:12 AM
Steel

Default New Member

Hi Everyone,

My name is John Connell and I am new to the Engraving Forum. I am a Lithographic Artist Designer by trade (now retired). To fill in the days, I do Drypoint & Line Engraving using a variety of drypoint needles and burins (gravers) on Copper and Zinc plates. I produce all my own prints from my plates & do all my own framing.
The burin's (gravers) I use are the old handpush style of graver with either a square or lozenge point.
The square point gravers (#3, #6 & #12) have a 45 degree tapered point with no undercut bevel on the shanks.
The lozenge point gravers (#2, #4 & #6) have a 30 degree tapered point "with" a small long tapering bevel (approx' 65mm long) on the bottom of the "V" along the bottom of the shank. I use the lozenge burins for my fine detail work. I would like to know if it is viable for me to transfer over the Palm Control Unit and what the advantages will be. Is there any 45 & 30 degree templates available for these points described as above.

Cheers: John
Old 07-23-2010, 11:08 AM
Platinum

Send a message via Skype™ to Daniel Houwer
Default Re: New Member

Hi John,

Welcome here

Your introduction screems for pictures both of your work and your tools.