PDA

View Full Version : Another Newbie

NevadaBlue
01-01-2008, 05:28 PM
Hello all. I'm overwhelmed with this art/craft form. I've just received my PC and accessories from Steve. WOW! What a beautiful tool.
I have never done any engraving, I'm not an artist, but for some reason, I'm doing this. I hope that you are all patient with me and I'll try to turn out some work that is worthy of Steve's effort making the engraving tools for me.
KurtB is to blame. :) He posted on a gunsmithing site that we both frequent and planted the seed; it took root. :D
I'm off to Nicaragua for a year this Saturday, working on a construction crew, in a man camp, building a mill for a gold mine. I'm taking the PC and tools, intending to run it off a CO2 bottle (a big one). So, I'll probably be asking a lot of the normal newbie questions and hopefully getting the hang of engraving.
Ken

mike koller
01-02-2008, 08:08 AM
Hello Ken,
Welcome to the madness:yesnod:
If you haven't already gotten the "The Art of Engraving" by James Meek I would highly recommend it. I have had an interest in drawing, painting, ... for over 30 years. As with all things, I haven't devoted enough time to it... but the book mentioned above is awesome and should be of great help.

Safe journey and I hope you are taking a camera :coolgleamA:

Steve Ellsworth
01-02-2008, 12:18 PM
do not attempt to hand carry your tools
pack them in baggage and get lots of insurance
rod ran into trouble with gravers being listed as weapons
of small destruction since they are sharp

NevadaBlue
01-02-2008, 06:30 PM
Thanks for the tips, guys. Steve told me to carry the PC and call it a 'handle'. :)
And the sharpies go in checked baggage. One of the bags for sure will get opened, it has a vast array of gas regulators, hoses, the gravers, a battery drill and 10 pounds of screws. LOL, I'll build a shop if I have to.

And, yes, I have 2 cameras. :)

mike koller
01-02-2008, 06:49 PM
the reason for the camera(s) is two fold...